Developing – the Kuba Inspiration Pt 4

My process begun with a bit of Kuba cloth that I own followed by Google – then moved on to library books. Before all these,  I believe the process,  like most of my work started  a long time ago when I was first introduced to African Art. I have always been keen to look at images of Kuba cloth and what various people have written about them. I did also managed a gallery in Nairobi that bought and sold genuine Kuba cloth from Zaire so a project like this one was always in the pipeline.

I like getting the practical bit going so below are some of my initial cut – outs.

The range is huge so below have shown just a few of them – some of which influenced Kuba Bangles and the 2017 range of jewellery.

Kipenzi Kenya UK By Linda Odhiambo Kipenzi Designs Mrembo Silver _10Kipenzi Kenya UK By Linda Odhiambo Kipenzi Designs Mrembo Silver _9Kipenzi Kenya UK By Linda Odhiambo Kipenzi Designs Mrembo Silver _5

Leave a Reply

