Huru _ Inspiration Art Design Resistance and Material

Kipenzi Banner

This and other ranges are available in my online shop on Etsy

Kipenzi
Huru _ Kipenzi Designs

African Art in its truest form is known for being expressive. It is rife with symbolism and purpose. Ideas are/were not just for  ideas sake  but reflected a responsibility,  a desire, a  need to be beyond common experience. A need for the spiritual. For this reason we find artistic references in rituals, costume, music, dance, everyday products and masks.  They originate form a need to make create objects that spiritually connect us.

Huru is an idea that is developed today _ that is to say –  a modern idea. An idea that resonates with everyone. To be modern is  to be a solo agent. Coming from or just emerging from a community led existence. The spiritual backdrop that is the African’s  state of being. We are confronted with the breakdown of that state and have to contend  with what we have  and where we are today. Many times I have head people in the diaspora claim that their bonds  with their native countries is even stronger when one is overseas.  Artists have portrayed conflict this this in many ways and huru is my portrayal.

Huru explores the idea of freedom. The physical manifestation as evidenced in barriers, shackles, ownership – the list is endless.  The  state that I had to embody to become free of the desire to conform into the expectations of the market and like a true artist, to bring into my ideas  what I really wanted to do without fear of  failure.

Huru makes bold statements in its original size.  I must take you further back – The idea of Huru was there long before it was realised. Being a designer, entrepreneur and product developer and based on my experience as a business development trainer, I was rigorously practicing what I taught everyday. I looked at the market and what sold the most. I observed  consumers and what they wore. the future did not look great for huru. yet I now live in a country  that is pioneering in very many aspect of design – its just that the market is very conservative, generally.   After  chat with my jewellery design tutor _ (Thanks Mel), I was able to tear through the fear and barriers and  be me. Draw, design and make what inspires me and out there I will find people who appreciate my work. I want to make art and objects that have a voice about who I am and where i come from.

Kipenzi _ Photography by Alex Hooper
Kipenzi Inspiration,  Beauty in escape
Kipenzi Photography by Alex Hooper
Kipenzi Inspiration Beauty in escape

This is countered by the simple lines and geometric ‘Huru’ is the Swahili word for freedom, which is what this necklet is about. Allowing one to move and to try to rearrange the pieces and sometimes even breaking through them.

Kipenzi Designs Photography by Alex Hooper
Kipenzi Inspiration – Beauty in escape
Escape In Beauty Photography by Alex Hooper
Escape In Beauty
Beauty in Escape Photography by Alex Hooper
Beauty in Escape
Huru
Huru
Kipenzi Huru
Huru inspiration comes form what hold us and freedom from these through confrontation
Huru Range Beauty in Escape Photography by Alex Hooper
Huru Range
Beauty in Escape

This and other ranges are available in my online shop on Etsy

Leave a Reply

